Virginia Misdemeanor and Felony Classification

Since man is endowed with a free will that allows him to develop his natural faculties, having his own limitations, freedom, his own nature; but, in society, this freedom is necessarily limited by respect for the freedom of other men; hence the need for rules. The law is a set of rules of mandatory observance for all members of society, which have been established by the   State by previously established procedures, allow the coexistence of all members of society among themselves, of the State institutions and the interrelation of these and society. Of course, the manifestation of law, in its practical and real aspect, is through the law. Any action or omission punishable, objectified in the manifestation of an event foreseen in the criminal law, which is subject to a sanction, to inhibit the individual to the commission of those conducts considered as crimes.

 Misdemeanor and felony:

The most serious crimes are called felonies. Felony is any crime or offense that is punishable by more than one year in jail or death. A crime which has a highest sentence of a fine or a short period of incarceration in the local jail is not a felony. The statute may not specify that a crime is a felony, but punishment defines crime as a felony.

According to State criminal codes the offenses that require a sentence of more than one year in the state’s criminal justice system. Those offenses are treated as felonies. When the accusations of crimes are serious, the need to have a lawyer experienced in criminal law is essential to help the accused.

Virginia lawmakers designate crimes as felonies or misdemeanors.

Classification of felonies:

Felonies in Virginia are designated as Class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6, but lawmakers may also set specific terms for certain crimes. (Va. Ann. Code § § 18.2-8, 18.2-9.)

  • Class 1 felony: Retribution of lifetime imprisonment and a hefty fine of up to $100,000, e.g., murder
  • Class 2 felony: Retribution of up to 20 years behind the bar and $100,000.
  • Class 3 Felony: prison term of five to 20 years and a fine of up to $100,000.
  • Class 4 Felony: Retribution of two to ten years’ in captivity and a fine of up to $100,000
  • Class 5 felony: crimes that are termed as a felony or a misdemeanor, depends on how the crime is charged and, sometimes, how the judge or jury decides to treat a conviction. one to ten years in prison
  • Class 6 felony: sentence for one to five years in prison or up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500.

Classification of a misdemeanor:

Misdemeanors are categorized as Class 1, 2, 3, or 4.

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor: Retribution of up to 12 months in captivity a fine of up to $2,500,
  • Class 2 Misdemeanor: Retribution of 6 months behind bars and a fine of up to $2,500.
  • Class 3 and 4 Misdemeanor: no jail time, 500$ fine only.